I have a friend who is a big fan of snow, being the type of guy who likes doing some weird semi-torture called cross-country skiing. I’m guessing that even my friend, who delights in the first snowfall of the year, is probably looking out his apartment window and saying: “Enough already!”

Ah, yes, winter in Edmonton. I know that this is part of the bargain when you choose to live in this great country, but sometimes I think we get the short end of the stick. I know it’s winter, I know it’s Edmonton… but this is ridiculous.

While I was out shoveling for the third or fourth time today, a thought came to me. Why the hell don’t I have a snowblower? I mean, I spend a pile of dough on a a power lawnmower to do a job that is actually fairly pleasant. So why haven’t I ever considered buying a snowblower to do a job that is backbreaking, potentially heart-attack inducing, and unpleasant. What was I thinkin?

Happily, people who are smart enough to have snowblowers, and they’re out in full force cleaning up not just their sidewalks, but those of their neighbours — and even the streets. Good citizens.

Other than moving snow from one place to the other, what do you do on a day like this?

My wife actually suggested that we go out to the mall to return a pair of pants, but the look of shock and horror on my face probably put an end to that in a hurry. My basement crawl space is a mess, which it always is, but I still don’t have any great desire to clear it up. Right now, as I write this, I am captivated by yet another World War II documentary series called Apocalypse: Second World War on National Geographic. I know I’ve seen this kind of stuff a million times, but on a snowbound day, I’m thinking a million and one is OK.

I am so desperate for something to do, I am almost looking forward to watching a potentially terrible NFL playoff game between the dismal Seattle Seahawks and the New Orleans Saints. I don’t care about the outcome, but if I can close the blinds and take my mind off this snowmaggedon for a few hours, I’ll take it.

But I’m nothing if not an optimist. (OK, I’m NOT an optimist.) But I can find a silver lining in all this snow — it’s falling on the weekend, which means it should be fairly clear sailing to go to work on Monday!

Good Lord, clearly I’m going stir crazy.

Leave a Reply

