A quick look at the Ward 5 candidates.

I’m sure regular readers of this blog (assuming such a creature exists) are looking to me for guidance about how to cast their vote on Monday.

I am far too humble to actually tell people how to vote. Besides, outside of my home territory of Ward 5, I haven’t a clue who vote for. There are roughly 8,794 people running for office this year, and I can barely keep track of the nine (!) people running in my ward. However, knowing my faithful reader(s) would want to know my view, I watched the election forum for ward 5 in an attempt to separate the wheat from the chaff. What I found was a whole lot of chaff, and a bit of wheat.

Now, I’m not going to bad mouth the lesser candidates. As a former candidate, I feel for anyone who runs for office. Most of those running are, as far as I can tell, sincere, and far be it for me to belittle any of them.

Except for one.

During the forum, one candidate, Brian Kendrick, said something so egregiously stupid that I feel I have to actively warn the public against voting for him. During the forum, Kendrick briefly complained about the city spending “a million dollars” to put fluoride in the water so people can have “pearly white teeth”. Anybody that ill informed can’t be allowed on city council. (Also, check out his answers to questions from The Local Good and pay attention to the spelling errors.)

As for the rest, I see three possible winners, all of them worthy of consideration.

I like Michael Oshry, a businessman. I talked to him briefly, and he seems like a decent guy. I am worried about the amount of money he has for his campaign, which seems to be bottomless. It will be interesting to see where it all came from.

Also worthy of consideration is Jim Gibbon, owner of Amber’s Brewery. He has an impressive track record of doing things for Edmonton, and I like his off-the-cuff speaking style. I won’t even hold it against him that when I wrote a profile of his company for SEE Magazine, he didn’t even offer me a drink.

The third vote-worthy candidate is Rob Hennigar. What I especially like about the guy is that he has refused to take campaign contributions from developers or other special interest groups. At least, I think he is. He mentioned something about it at the forum, and makes mention of community based funding for campaigns, but doesn’t specifically say on his website that he won’t take developer money. But that’s the gist, I guess.

I’m still not sure which of the three I’m voting for, but I’m reasonably confident that Oshry, Gibbon or Hennigar will win, and any of the three will be a good representative for the ward.  I’m also confident that all of them know that fluoride in the water has nothing to do with pearly white teeth.

One thought on “A quick look at the Ward 5 candidates.

  1. Have to agree with you on the 3 most noteworthy candidates. Oshry’s huge $$$ campaign gives me cause for concern as well. But I liked chatting with Rob Hennigar and Jim Gibbons has excellent blog posts. One of those 2 will be my vote.

Leave a Reply

